Recommended firmware for Netgear WNR834Bv2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
lagrangersf
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:15    Post subject: Recommended firmware for Netgear WNR834Bv2 Reply with quote
Greetings. I have an old Netgear WNR834Bv2 router that I've been using for many years in Client Bridge mode. It is currently running build 19327 mini. Needless to say, I'm thinking it would be beneficial from a security and stability standpoint to upgrade to a build that's not older than Methuselah.

I was wondering if anyone else here could recommend a newer build to which I can upgrade this router that is stable and fully-functional. I've already tried upgrading to the most recent build, but even though the upgrade was successful, it killed the wifi in the process. I had to forcefully coerce it into tftp recovery mode so I could revert it back to 19327 and get wifi working again.

Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thank you.
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 13:26    Post subject: Re: Recommended firmware for Netgear WNR834Bv2 Reply with quote
lagrangersf wrote:
Greetings. I have an old Netgear WNR834Bv2 router that I've been using for many years in Client Bridge mode. It is currently running build 19327 mini. Needless to say, I'm thinking it would be beneficial from a security and stability standpoint to upgrade
Yes, as you've noticed, recent builds have had wireless issues. The krack fix for Broadcom is in since 33772, so you probably want to start around there as you're running a CB. I ran 34311 on a couple WRT54's for a while, after having issues w/ 33772.

Try this: Save your current config (build_19327_mini.nvram or whatever) in case you eventually revert to it (don't use the backup for newer builds), flash 34311, GUI reset, manually set up, and see how it does. If you have problems, try the next build (34411); no reset needed. Lather, rinse, repeat.