WRT54GL v1.1 blinking power LED

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
boooooob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 18:00    Post subject: WRT54GL v1.1 blinking power LED Reply with quote
Did something stupid, chose a newd2 file by mistake and flashed. I have blinking power LED, I cannot get it to respond to a ping, no matter what. I did many resets, still no go. Is there anything I can try, without having to remove the case, as it is under warrenty. Ip was still default 192.168.1.1 before the flash mistake.

Thanks Confused

boooooob
Sponsor
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello JTAG.
_________________
The New Me
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10882
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 18:05    Post subject: Re: WRT54GL v1.1 blinking power LED Reply with quote
boooooob wrote:
Did something stupid, chose a newd2 file by mistake and flashed. I have blinking power LED, I cannot get it to respond to a ping, no matter what. I did many resets, still no go. Is there anything I can try, without having to remove the case, as it is under warrenty. Ip was still default 192.168.1.1 before the flash mistake.

Thanks Confused

boooooob


Yep...JTAG is the way to go...and BTW...as soon as you put dd-wrt on it...you voided your warantee...sorry to tell you that.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Mordak
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 931
Location: Orange, MA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah read all the documentation now that you bricked it. Jtag is not too bad to do. There's tons of info to walk you through it. Jtag cables and headers are available on eBay cheaply. I think many of us started out this way, "OH I've got a brick now what do I do?" You'll get it fixed hang in there. Wink
_________________

6 X WRT54G-TM
1 X WRT54G V1.0
1 X WRT54G V2.2
1 X WRT54G V5.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.1
1 X WRT54GS V2.0
1 X WRT160NL v1.0
1 X WRT320N
2 X WRT350N
1 X WRT600N v1.0
2 X WRT610N v1.0
1 X E1500
boooooob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 18:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you

I already pretty much figured it was going to be JTAG.

boooooob
nasax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRT54GL v1.1

Had same problem no reset worcked and so the JTAG to by to complicated so i went for the man reset :P

hir it is the picture Smile
sory it is in spain i found it like this Smile
Hope it helps more ppl :)

so the spers to go are :
1 ) trie to ping 192.168.1.1 if you get no resolt ok
2 ) pug all the cable out of the WRT54GL v1.1
3 ) haw a ping open for 192.168.1.1 command "ping 192.168.1.1 -t"
4 ) haw a lik cable from the pc to pne of the LAN output .
5 ) make contact pin 16 wit the MASA ( matal age of the wirles.
6 ) the Plug the power in had it like thet for 2- 5 sec you shud get ping respons in the time .
7 ) take the contects you mad down ( use a nidel and some wire ) DO NOT PLOG THE DEWICE OUT
8 ) now the we got connection to the WRT54GL use TFTP to update the framwerare Smile
9 ) You are done ruter worcking agen :D

main link was : http://lampiweb.com/foro/index.php/topic,3481.0.html



wrt54gl.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  217.03 KB
 Viewed:  7591 Time(s)

wrt54gl.jpg



_________________
I Love Linux !
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
nasax wrote:
WRT54GL v1.1

Had same problem no reset worcked and so the JTAG to by to complicated so i went for the man reset :P

hir it is the picture Smile
sory it is in spain i found it like this Smile
Hope it helps more ppl :)

so the spers to go are :
1 ) trie to ping 192.168.1.1 if you get no resolt ok
2 ) pug all the cable out of the WRT54GL v1.1
3 ) haw a ping open for 192.168.1.1 command "ping 192.168.1.1 -t"
4 ) haw a lik cable from the pc to pne of the LAN output .
5 ) make contact pin 16 wit the MASA ( matal age of the wirles.
6 ) the Plug the power in had it like thet for 2- 5 sec you shud get ping respons in the time .
7 ) take the contects you mad down ( use a nidel and some wire ) DO NOT PLOG THE DEWICE OUT
8 ) now the we got connection to the WRT54GL use TFTP to update the framwerare Smile
9 ) You are done ruter worcking agen :D

main link was : http://lampiweb.com/foro/index.php/topic,3481.0.html


Super bad advice.

_________________
The New Me
nasax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 21:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
worcked for my .
wen i was about to trow my WRT54GL out .
noting else worcked and i see the JTAG as a complycate way . for the WRT54GL.

DHC_DarkShadow wrote:
nasax wrote:
WRT54GL v1.1

Had same problem no reset worcked and so the JTAG to by to complicated so i went for the man reset :P

hir it is the picture Smile
sory it is in spain i found it like this Smile
Hope it helps more ppl :)

so the spers to go are :
1 ) trie to ping 192.168.1.1 if you get no resolt ok
2 ) pug all the cable out of the WRT54GL v1.1
3 ) haw a ping open for 192.168.1.1 command "ping 192.168.1.1 -t"
4 ) haw a lik cable from the pc to pne of the LAN output .
5 ) make contact pin 16 wit the MASA ( matal age of the wirles.
6 ) the Plug the power in had it like thet for 2- 5 sec you shud get ping respons in the time .
7 ) take the contects you mad down ( use a nidel and some wire ) DO NOT PLOG THE DEWICE OUT
8 ) now the we got connection to the WRT54GL use TFTP to update the framwerare Smile
9 ) You are done ruter worcking agen :D

main link was : http://lampiweb.com/foro/index.php/topic,3481.0.html


Super bad advice.

_________________
I Love Linux !
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12740
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'd still like to know how shorting an address line (pin 16) to ground does anything.

There are also reports of shorting 15 & 16, and 16 & 17..

If this works.. what makes it work?

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Mordak
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 931
Location: Orange, MA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 21:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
I'd still like to know how shorting an address line (pin 16) to ground does anything.

There are also reports of shorting 15 & 16, and 16 & 17..

If this works.. what makes it work?
I'm pretty much of the school of thought that if you pin short, then you had better be prepared to throw your router in the trash first. It's just not a steady, repeatable thing and is know to cause permanent damage. Just my 2 cents. BW I think you probably feel the same IIRC.
_________________

6 X WRT54G-TM
1 X WRT54G V1.0
1 X WRT54G V2.2
1 X WRT54G V5.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.1
1 X WRT54GS V2.0
1 X WRT160NL v1.0
1 X WRT320N
2 X WRT350N
1 X WRT600N v1.0
2 X WRT610N v1.0
1 X E1500
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12740
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mordak wrote:
barryware wrote:
I'd still like to know how shorting an address line (pin 16) to ground does anything.

There are also reports of shorting 15 & 16, and 16 & 17..

If this works.. what makes it work?
I'm pretty much of the school of thought that if you pin short, then you had better be prepared to throw your router in the trash first. It's just not a steady, repeatable thing and is know to cause permanent damage. Just my 2 cents. BW I think you probably feel the same IIRC.


I do agree.. I would never pin short. However it has been reported that in some circumstances, it will work and allow the router to accept pings... etc.

I wanna know what makes it work or maybe it is just a fairytale. What is the science behind shorting an address line to ground?

I'm not talking about the pin 9 deal with one model of router that escapes me right now.. Asus maybe. I have not checked the pin out of the flash chip on that device to see what pin 9 is.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12740
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
What happened to the pin shorters out there...

Why does shorting an address line work?

Fairytale!

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
nasax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
i dont know whay it works is so the first expl. for a Brufone and thot Linksys shoud haw thet to so i went to ggoogle and found it :D

It worcked for my Smile Oldo i agere it is triky and riski. you can tuchi wer eazy somting that you shudant Smile So for more Hardware details i dont know . but hope you finde whay it worcks Rolling Eyes

_________________
I Love Linux !
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10882
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
What happened to the pin shorters out there...

Why does shorting an address line work?

Fairytale!


I agree....why an address line...pin 12 is the Reset pin.

This is just bogus to short pin 16....drop the $10 and get a JTAG cable...its much more reliable (not directed at you BW)

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
boooooob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Smile Well I did some reading on the pin shorting, then got a data sheet for the MX flash, don't see anyway shorting the said pins would do anything, except maybe messing up the flash chip........or the traces..

I played with FTA receivers a bit, and I had a crude JTAG, wires with resistors on the ends. I bent the resistor leads on themselves, (made them fit in the plate through holes better), 4 resistors and 1 ground wire,(also stuck in a plate through hole)

Fired up the TJTAGV2

tjtagv2 -erase:nvram /noreset (would not work without /noreset)
NO PING
tjtagv2 -erase:kernel /noreset
PING PING PING !!!!!!
Used tftp2.exe with Linksys flash

Router working, saved cfe, nvram, kernel.
Flashed ddwrt mini, then std.

All fixed without soldering on a header, (pogo pins would be a good idea)

DO NOT USE newd2 for this router, you will not be happy........

Have a nice weekend Smile

boooooob
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum